Oh how do the insomniacs manage????

Ah sleep – elusive, hard to get sleep.

How do the insomniacs manage?  Friend of mine says – they don’t – they get crabby and moody and …..  referring, I believe, to her sweetie, an insomniac.

So, I thought I’d share info on sleep.  Since the diagnosis, I was averaging about 3ish hours of sleep a night.  This is clearly not enough.  I typically would wake up between 2 and 3, and I would either stare at the ceiling or just get up and go do something (like blog or work or read).

I hit a wall last weekend, I think.  I was so tired, and I had this under current of krankiness … despite all the awesome things that happened last weekend (e.g., Powderhorn 24).

Vitamin X (Xanax – thought it started with a Z… Nope – starts with an X), gets me to fall alseep… but then I only stay asleep for 2-3 hours.  That’s not enough!

So, I emailed DZ and asked for advice.  He suggested ambien.  Now, this drug is kind of frightening.  If you haven’t read much about it – it’s the one that is associated with sleep walking, sleep eating, and even sleep driving!  Wha????  Oh man, this drug made me a little nervous.  One ambien user described waking up with a broken nose – she was terrified that she had driven her car, and she ran out to see if she had… and was relieved she had not.  She has no clue how she broke her nose!  Whoa.

I went ahead and filled it – seems these side effects are rare.  And I took it Monday evening.  Immediately after taking it (this is strongly urged by the med instructions and by the pharm), I got into bed with a book.  MAYBE 10 minutes later, I was out cold.  This was around 10p.  I woke up around 4 or 5… and had a headache and was kranky beyond belief.  But, I felt better, for the most part.

So, that was day one on the Ambien.  Unfortunately, I had an appointment Tuesday morning, and I was KRANKY!  To all who interacted with me last Tuesday morning – sorry bout that.

DZ suggested I stick with this stuff for a few more days… So I did.  The ambien hangover definitely lessened, but I still had headaches in the morning, and I don’t care for that.  In the end, I think I have a better result – I wake up better and happier – if I take one-half a vitamin x right before going to bed and another half if I wake up in the middle of the night, which I nearly always do.  I may still use it occasionally for those nights when I just know going to sleep is going to be rough – like maybe the day before chemo I….

PS – pre-diagnosis, I nearly always slept like a baby…..

About rleepenn

I'm a mom and a chemistry professor, and I love to ride bikes! On July 29th, 2011, I received the news that I have breast cancer. This is my blog....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

