The legs, the machine, and the brains behind the whole operation….

All City 2011 – Whoa.

Saturday morning, I took my sweetie and child to the airport and sent them on their way to see Grandma and Grandpa.  I miss them terribly, but I’m glad they are seeing Grandma and Grandpa!  After, I went home… I napped.  Seriously – I actually fell asleep for nearly two hours.  Oh man – that was lovely.

Then, I got some stuff done around the house – went to a couple of the local garage sales – did some more stuff around the house… and then got ready to head to the race.

What race, you ask?  All City Championships – a whole weekend of awesome racing right here in urban Minneapolis.  http://www.bikejerksmpls.blogspot.com/

I won’t lie – I wanted to win.  I told my friends – I want to win!  My buddy Erik loaned me his Peacock Groove ‘Ace of Spades’ for this race – the same machine I raced at Powderhorn 24.  So, that was the machine.

My buddy Will and I hooked up at the start of the race, and once manifests were out, he and I started planning.  Okay, who am I kidding?  Seriously – Will was the brains behind this operation.

And then we’re off.  We were instructed to lay our bikes down in the alley, and then we had to go back about 100 m ….  And we’re off!  Elbows – knees – running – flailing…  We’re amongst the first 10 or so out of the alley – Will almost crashes when a dude in front of him poorly executes a cyclocross remount and very nearly takes him out….

And so – Will is a master.  We did the picks… and then the drops… and then headed north and east… south… to the cross town hustle.  Will routed us expertly… and he totally cooked himself…. and sent me ahead. So, I pushed my pace and suffered.  Hit Bryant Bowl…  Missed Lyle’s by two blocks…  had to go back. Laid the hammer down on the crosstown hustle… up to the Witch’s Hat (brutal climb – including stairs) – and then to the sandy beach, which also included brutal climbing and stairs.  Then, absolute redline to Peacock Groove – I even drooled on myself a little.  Holy Shit I won!

Just shy of 2.5 hours of racing…  Didn’t think about cancer…  Just had a fantastic time racing hard…  And – I won an awesome bag, socks, hats, and …. a new FRAME SET!

PS – bag’s perfect for hauling cylcocross barriers, amongst other things…  Made by Blaq out of Portland.

About rleepenn

I'm a mom and a chemistry professor, and I love to ride bikes! On July 29th, 2011, I received the news that I have breast cancer. This is my blog....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The legs, the machine, and the brains behind the whole operation….

  1. Susan says:

    Way to go!!

  2. Jen Hanks says:

    Rad!

  3. Lynne says:

    LOL!! Got your super secret weapon now…drool. 😉

Leave a Reply

