Chemo V – interesting followed by boring and sleepy

Chemo day five started out with an interview with two reporters from Kare 11 (the Minneapolis / St. Paul NBC station).  Since next month is breast cancer awareness month, the reporters were doing a story on ISPY2 – the clinical trial in which I am enrolled.  They asked me if they could meet me at home, and I said nope – I’ll be at work!  So they came to work and filmed me actually talking about science with a member of my research group, filmed me answering interview questions, and then filmed me riding Erik Noren’s Ace of Spades to my lunch meeting.

Then, it was off to chemo, where I learned that, if all stays on schedule… I’ll be done BEFORE THE NEW YEAR!  That’d be good.  Surgery will still be in 2012, but it’d be grand if I could end up completely finished with chemo before 2012 arrives.

The Kare 11 guys filmed a bit more, including a low key discussion between my physician and me.

And then….  WHAP – Lee is out, happily sleeping boring chemo V away.  Yippee!!!!!

More about the interview later….

Pre-chemo V stats:  130 lbs, HR 80s (I was standing at the time), temp 98.2 °F, WBC 4.3, RBC 3.4, hgb 11.0, hematocrit 31.7, Platelets 143 and neutrophils 2.2.  So, those blood counts are much better!  Yay neupogen, even tho you sting like a mother-&^$#*#^ going in.  Just one neupogen shot this week – on Monday morning.

To come – discussion of weight and carbo week was hard!

About rleepenn

I'm a mom and a chemistry professor, and I love to ride bikes! On July 29th, 2011, I received the news that I have breast cancer. This is my blog....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

