Got kcked out of chemo AGAIN!

Pre-chemo VI stats…. SUCKED!
Ok – weight was right on (131 lbs – managing to maintain), but the infection fighters dropped below acceptable limits (likely an effect of the carbo). What kills me is that I had suggested a blood test for Monday, to see how things were going. I got shot down on that… The numbers should be going in the right direction, they said. Now, I realize this is not an exact science, but more information is more information. So why NOT run the blood test two days before planned chemo VI? Why NOT?????

Turns out the experimental drug is hard on platelets….

And of course NOW they are telling me I should expect this to happen more times – because of the experimental drug. And of course this heppened RIGHT AFTER them telling me that I’d be done end of December. As of this moment right now, I feel like optimistic comments should be viewed as bad luck. As of this moment right now, I feel like I MIGHT be “lucky” if I finish by spring break of spring semester 2012.

Lee Penn is pissy.

I feel like the light at the end of the tunnel keeps getting further and further away…. Somehow, when I was thinking TEN to go… (i.e., could count them on my two hands), I was feeling optimistic. I still have ELEVEN to go…. And I’m not liking the number eleven. Eleven can kiss my a$$.

About rleepenn

I'm a mom and a chemistry professor, and I love to ride bikes! On July 29th, 2011, I received the news that I have breast cancer. This is my blog....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Got kcked out of chemo AGAIN!

  1. Thelma. says:

    Be patient, stop counting and enjoy the quality time with family and friends. Sometimes things are out of our control no matter what we do. Hugs, hugs, hugs, Thelma.

  2. Jen Hanks says:

    Lee, I’m bummed for you. Are you still getting the Neupogen? What is the experimental drug? Now go take your frustration out on your bike. Enjoy the weekend. Jen.

Leave a Reply

