Nine down, seven to go!

Amazing how stressful it feels, wondering if I will get chemo each week. My blood counts have been so sensitive to the chemo! But, this week, they held strong with no neupogen. My hemoglobin has DROPPED, and WOW, I can feel that!!!! Riding with a buddy was hard – especially on anything involving an increase in altitude (even tiny increases). Alas….

Stats: Hemoglobin is 9.9! Weight is 132. Neut number was 1.1 (1.0 is the minimum for chemo), and my platelets were 189. I don’t have the paper work right here with me, but those are the most important numbers. Interestingly, my blood protein was also low, which prompted the physician to encourage me to eat more protein, but not animal protein and fat, she says…. Well, I said, I’m eating a vegan diet and… PERFECT she responded before I got another word out. Anyway, I look upon this past week, which included too many skittles, and I was definitely not being as mindful about protein. I eat a ton of fruits and vegetables and nuts and beans and stuff. But with my weight stable, I hadn’t focused as much attention to the other high protein stuff… including my hemp protein shake that I had been drinking. So, I am going to be sure to up those items in my diet.

Chemo number nine was boring and sleepy – just as it should be.

In other news, my little dude is such a determined bike racer!!!! We both raced at the Red Barn Classic, which is held in Taylors Fall Minnesota – on a christmas tree farm. It’s a GREAT venue – one of the most popular in the area. I raced the single speed category, and I had a great time despite not quite being able to catch my breath (why? that became clear upon Monday’s bloodwork). Tre raced the juniors – under 14 category – and he had a great time! He rocks a pretty darn lightweight bike (by Erik Noren at peacock groove), but it still weighs about 1/3 his body weight (he’s thin). Despite that, he was determined to get his bike up the run-up, and he did it well! All three of us traveled up to the race, and a great time was had by all….


photo by Susan F – thanks Susan!

About rleepenn

I'm a mom and a chemistry professor, and I love to ride bikes! On July 29th, 2011, I received the news that I have breast cancer. This is my blog....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Nine down, seven to go!

  1. Susan Burroughs Soltis says:

    Go LEE!! You amaze me!! Keep it up!!

  2. Lynne says:

    Where’s that “like” button? 😉

  3. bonny says:

    Great post Lee- thanks for sharing. 🙂

  4. Jen H says:

    You are over the hump. Maybe you’ll be done by January?

  5. rleepenn says:

    i’m over the hump in number of treatments… but not in time. the last four are every other week… and then surgery. but it feels good to have passed the one-half mark in number! fingers crossed for good blood work this week!

Leave a Reply

