He’s a guy, and I get to be a patient

I have this friend, and he has a few masses growing on his head.

Why is it that he’s just a guy, and I get to be a patient? Now, don’t get me wrong. Being a patient has not been fun. I would not wish this round of chemo on anyone (unless they need it, of course). I have excellent health care. I have access to experts in breast cancer. I have a medical team that communicates well and helps me make informed decisions about my health care. Also, I’m in a clinical trial – state of the art stuff here.

And he’s just a guy. He’s a guy with kids, and he cannot afford to go get checked out because he has no insurance and cannot risk his kids losing the financial support he provides. He’s a good person – a strong and kind person. And he’s just a guy – not a patient.

I worry – I think – he needs to be a patient.

About rleepenn

I'm a mom and a chemistry professor, and I love to ride bikes! On July 29th, 2011, I received the news that I have breast cancer. This is my blog....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to He’s a guy, and I get to be a patient

  1. Lynne says:

    Yes, it’s very sad. It seems that the one thing every single person should be entitled to is life saving medical care.

Leave a Reply

