BELL LAP!

Thursday was chemo XV – that means one chemo to go – cow bells ringing – one lap to go – cow bells ringing!!!!!

Our Chemo Nurse Lisa shot this one for us…. The hoodie came from a cool St Paul Bike shop, Omnium, run by my friend Dan. Thanks Dan!

My appointment started at 8:00am, which, I have to say, is painful. Most of my appointments have been in the afternoon… I get home – we have some food… and I just sort of fade out on the couch. Well, this time, I went to work… and it was … interesting. I have a new drug that makes me kind of ADD and sleepy at the same time. Followed by just ADD and happy once the sleepy wears off. But when that wore off? Oh Man – hello nausea… Started trading off between anti-nausea meds as perscribed…. all through the night. Plus, the chemo regimen requires a ton of extra fluids during the first day, and so I was up all night for that too. Took this morning’s steroid dose, and now I’m feeling quite a bit better. Phew! Anyway, the morning gig is not as easy as the afternoon gig, I think.

On the HUGE UPSIDE!!!!! I’ve one cycle to go!!!! Just one! There’s that light at the end of the tunnel. My friend Jennifer was quick to remind me that the light I see up there is NOT a train. NO – I am the train! And I’m chugging my way through this mountain tunnel….

Mouthsores – surprisingly – continue to improve. I’m going to be SUPER ANAL about mouth care in hopes of minimizing any new ones… and speeding up the disappearance of these old ones.

I have two nadirs remaining (that’s when your blood counts hit lows)… but my blood counts are much much stronger than they have been in quite a while. I’m more tired, but I am not struggling to keep my breath any more! I do have to work at maintaing weight.

HGB at 10.5 (double digits – woot woot!!!!!)
ANC (infection fighters) at 7.0 (high because of the booster shot – again – woot woot)
Platelets at a totally normal 220!!!!!
Protein normal – that’s good – I went a while there with low protein….
morning weight 134- same as two weeks ago!!!!!

So, next chemo is supposed to be 19 Jan. Then final MRI and echo two weeks after that.
I will consider that pair of appointments the official beginning of chemo recovery.

That’s all I’ve got for today. I hope everyone has a great day!

About rleepenn

I'm a mom and a chemistry professor, and I love to ride bikes! On July 29th, 2011, I received the news that I have breast cancer. This is my blog....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to BELL LAP!

  1. Amy Gribb says:

    Hi Lee: Just took some time to look around and realized what you’ve been going through–sorry for being ignorant–embarrassing to have missed that very significant piece of information. I’m glad to see you’re just days away from finishing up with chemo. My best to you getting back on your way to feeling good. -Amy

Leave a Reply

