Polar opposites….

This morning, I had the joy of riding to Minnehaha Peace Coffee, meeting up with eight other people, and riding off-road for HOURS…. It was fantastic!!!!! So much wonderful fun after a week of fatigue and nausea. It was sunny and right around freezing in temperature, and we had a perfect mix of people. We also ate at one of my favorite places – the Hard Times Cafe. Mmmmmm – content Lee.

This morning, Cheryl was leaving to take Tre roller skating with Grandma Sandy and Tina. But, her plans were foiled by a FLAT TIRE ON THE CAR!!!! So, she and Tre left the car and walked home… and Cheryl’s cranky! Who can blame her?

Polar opposites. My four hours riding and eating and with friends were FANTASTIC and sooooo much fun! Cheryl’s four hours of fun were foiled.

A friend of mine met me at the car, and we made relatively quick work of switching over to the spare. I kept getting out of breath … and he’d take over… we both got the car up… I loosened the nuts using body weight… he finished getting the nuts off and took the flat wheel off… I stuck the spare on… and got the nuts nearly tight. We were an excellent little team. Thank you Josh!

Cheryl says her day sucks big a$$… Kind of the straw that pushed her over the edge… You know that feeling? When it seems like another thing and another thing and another thing just gets piled onto you? And sometimes that last thing is totally not a huge deal… but it’s that one more thing… Yeah – the flat tire pushed her over her threshold.

I’m gonna take the boys to pizza tonight, and hopefully Cheryl will get a bit of peaceful solitude…. She deserves it!

Evidence of the ride… with several of the other riders. That’s me in the white jacket with the black back pack. Who knows what I’m doing with my arm there… Thanks Andrew for the pic!

About rleepenn

I'm a mom and a chemistry professor, and I love to ride bikes! On July 29th, 2011, I received the news that I have breast cancer. This is my blog....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Polar opposites….

  1. Lynne says:

    You guys are the perfect couple-totally jealous 🙂

Leave a Reply

