Last chemo pit of crappiness

What chemo blog post is complete without some stats?
Hemoglobin at 10.0 – lower than last week… but okay.
Platelets at a happy 273! Totally normal.
Absolute neutrophils at a totally normal 7.0 thanks to that neulasta shot.
Weight at 133 – lost a little, but really, not too bad.

_____

BUT – this was the worst chemo night ever. You know how in the movies they portray chemo patients as vomiting a lot and just plain feeling miserable? Well, that’s me this time around. I spent hours in the bathroom last night – ended up turning up the bathroom floor (LOVE our heated floor) and wrapped up in a blanket for HOURS. Then, today, I’m feeling beyond exhausted and constantly nauseous, despite all the meds on board.

The nurses tell me that people just sometimes have a bad cycle. Everyone keeps telling me how well I’ve been doing etc… And compared to this? Every other cycle better. So, 15/16 isn’t half bad, eh? As Precious, the nurse who gave me nuelasta today, said – I’ve dodged a whole lotta bad chemo bullets!

Holy smokes tho – bad cycles are BBBAAAAAAAADDDDDDDD!!!!!!! I’m probably going to get back in bed in a few minutes….

_____

MISSION: I had a mission to ride my bike every possible day of chemotherapy. Mission accomplished. The only three days I missed were the days I spent in Denver for a business trip (National ACS meeting). I rode to every single treatment. I rode to work – sometimes, extremely slowly! I sometimes got out for fun rides too! As friends have told me, the good days do outnumber the bad days.

Average ride time – about an hour a day (commutes to work, errands, fun rides, etc….).
Shortest ride time = 8 min
Longest ride time = 200 min

_____

Last chemo pic!!!!!

_____

I sure do miss my hair!
Here’s a chemo pic from the fourth cycle for comparison.

About rleepenn

I'm a mom and a chemistry professor, and I love to ride bikes! On July 29th, 2011, I received the news that I have breast cancer. This is my blog....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Last chemo pit of crappiness

  1. Boooo to feeling shitty, but HURRAH 800x over for being done with chemo!!!

    And major props on riding every day; I don’t think I knew you were doing that, and am majorly impressed as a result. Not that I would have expected anything else from the fantastic Lee Penn 🙂

    ~Lauren

Leave a Reply

