NED – a most excellent acronym!

Over the last few days, I have been stabbed several times and scanned twice…. Today, I got some results.

Stats: Hemoglobin at 9.3 (that explains it – I’ve been having trouble catching my breath even though I feel so much better! Must’ve gotten pretty darn low this time around).
Weight at 132 – a good number.
ANC at 10.1 (neulasta really did its job)
Platelets at 283 – totally normal.

Scans:
PET scan – no uptake – that means NEGATIVE for evidence of cancer.
MRI – no evidence of cancer.

That, folks, is a beautiful thing. According to the data we currently have, there is no evidence that I have cancer. Woot woot!!!!!!

It’s all just now really settling into my mind, these results…. I still have to have surgery, and the pathology results after that will really tell us the full story. The scans cannot detect microscopic disease… but the characterization of the tissue samples can. So, I’m hoping for more news like the above! Surgery – 13 Feb 2012….

About rleepenn

I'm a mom and a chemistry professor, and I love to ride bikes! On July 29th, 2011, I received the news that I have breast cancer. This is my blog....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to NED – a most excellent acronym!

  1. Lynne says:

    EXCELLENT!

  2. bonny says:

    Oh joy! this point brings tears to my eyes, Lee. I am so happy for you right now. 🙂
    Fingers crossed for the 13th. And thanks for giving us the good news.

  3. Ben says:

    Congratulations and good luck!

  4. Julia says:

    GREAT NEWS!!! keep sharing it with us! Woohoo!

  5. noren says:

    you may be cancer free, but you’ll never get rid of me.
    HA!!

  6. Laura says:

    Great news!! And great shot of you and Cheryl too.

  7. Leslie flynn says:

    I’m so very very happy for you and your family. Prayers sent your way for a speedy recovery from surgery!

  8. Thelma says:

    ciao cancer!!! Great news!!!

  9. Rebecca P says:

    This is amazing news!! Wooo! Prayers for your upcoming surgeries!

Leave a Reply

