How’s Lee Penn doing today?

Good day everyone!

I can’t believe how well I’m doing.  I can get things off shelves higher than my head… I can put on t-shirts, which is awesome because smooth soft cotton feels best on my chest right now…  I can wash dishes. I have gone for a few walks…  I can reach back behind my head to switch off the lamp behind the bed.  I can ride a bike.  I feel like twenty times better than what I expected.

I had a pathologically complete response – no evidence of cancer.  I had atypical cells in my other breast, originally thought to be my “healthy” breast.  GONE.  They apparently call this benign breast disease… and apparently it means you have a greater risk of breast cancer.  Bullet dodged on the left?  I’ll never know.  I’m okay with that!  In fact, I’m more than okay with that!

The drains are weird…  The amount of fluid has dropped way back – I am optimistic for the drains coming out on Tuesday. But really, they don’t bug me that much.  I like to wear baggy cargo jeans, and the drains go right into the pockets, and no one can see them… unless a bit of tubing pops out.  Even then, unless you’re looking for it, you don’t see it.  I really don’t look like I just had major surgery.

I do have this weird numbness / pain in and around my right arm pit.  I think that’s just nerves cut during the sentinel node biopsy…  I am trying to stay on the every six hour ibuprofen schedule, but over the last two days, I’ve been forgetting.  That must means that the arm pit pain becomes a bit more than noticeable…  But seriously – just two ibuprofen every six hours is keeping things quite peachy.  NOT what I expected!

I have been regularly annoying Cheryl, truth be told.  I’m not exactly the type to … uhm… rest…  cooperate…  or like NOT do something….  So, on my list of things I’ve done since surgery Monday:  dishes (heavy sighs from Cheryl), laundry (heavy sighs from Cheryl), driving (eyes rolled), and riding my bike (you don’t even want to know).  At the end of the day, moving makes everything feel better.  When I haven’t been moving for a bit, it’s actually a bit painful to start moving.  If I just kind of move regularly plus move to do some things – everything seems smoother…  Well, except for that part about ticking Cheryl off.

Without a doubt, I need more sleep, and I get tired kind of easily.  At last measure, I’m very anemic…  Hopefully, my bone marrow is catching up….

Next up – post-op check up.  Drains hopefully removed. FULL REPORT from pathology.

Tomorrow?  Half day at work.

About rleepenn

I'm a mom and a chemistry professor, and I love to ride bikes! On July 29th, 2011, I received the news that I have breast cancer. This is my blog....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to How’s Lee Penn doing today?

  1. Carol says:

    Happy to hear that you are bouncing back so well, and so glad my sis is there to provide some sanity (even if you are ignoring most of it!)! Sorry about the eye rolls though – no one does eye rolls like Cheryl (except maybe our mother!).

  2. Jeannette Brown says:

    Half a day at work? Humm Just as I told my friends here. I predicted that you would both ride your bike and go back to work in a week. Take it easy and bundel up. Even though it is a warm winter you don’t want to get sick.
    Jeannette

  3. Lynne says:

    That’s so great, Lee! And Cheryl’s a saint, lol!!!

Leave a Reply

