Five percent – sounds pretty great to me!

Triple negative breast cancer + chemo = complete pathological response

That’s a right good equation up there.

I had an appointment with the big doc today – the one that is the head of the clinical trial in this neck of the woods.  I had the best possible result – a complete pathological response, or pathological complete response, or pathologically complete response…  Whatever – it all boils down to the same thing – no evidence of cancer.

And so I finally asked the stats question.  What is the likelihood of recurrence?  Around 5% is the current answer.  Without the complete pathological response, the recurrence rate is something like 1 out of 3… within the first few years. I don’t have the exact stats… but it’s something like that.  So… big huge sigh of relief…

So now what?

Someone suggested I should change from breast cancer patient to breast cancer survivor in my little self description.

Interesting thought.  On the one hand, once a cancer patient, always a cancer patient.  On the other hand, the current hypothesis is that I am free of cancer.  I tend to be an optimistic person.  So, do I embrace that optimism and go ahead and say – Lee Penn kicked cancer’s ass?

What do you think?  I really want to know!  Please comment.

Return of hair and eyebrows. And heck - throw some eyelashes in there as well! Oh yes, and the nose hairs are back!

About rleepenn

I'm a mom and a chemistry professor, and I love to ride bikes! On July 29th, 2011, I received the news that I have breast cancer. This is my blog....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Five percent – sounds pretty great to me!

  1. bonny says:

    Oh yeah– “survivor”– that cancer’s ass has been duly kicked! go for it!! JOY!

  2. David Bernick says:

    You’ve been kicking ass through this whole thing!!!
    As far as the hair returning, I have to say, you sported the hairless look with style!!!
    CHEERS…

Leave a Reply

