cancer was SOOOOO last year

Good evening – and what a fine evening it truly has been.

We met our son’s fifth grade teacher, and she’s terrific. I went to Reels x Wheels at the Parkway Theatre in Minneapolis, where I saw a few terrific films. I rode my bike. I ran up a bunch of stairs with my bike on my shoulder. I worked. I went to meetings.
And guess what? As far as I know, I don’t have cancer. (YAY!)

Cancer was so last year.

So, I’d like to ask all of my friends for a favor. If you see me out in the wild, at my son’s school, on campus… Pretend like I never had cancer. Unless, of course, you need some support yourself. But, in that case, please save it for when we’re not surrounded by loads of other people.

I’m beyond ready to fly under the cancer radar. I just wanna be Tre’s mom… these students’ chem professor… a bike racer and commuter and rider… my sweetie’s pain in the butt…. a neighbor who has a freaking wasp nest in the back yard…  my grad students’ advisor… my friends’ friend…  our kitty’s provider of the elusive red dot.

PS –
REELS X WHEELS — Four short films about bikes
ARTCRANK // The Almanzo 100 // Deep Custom // Off The Map

About rleepenn

I'm a mom and a chemistry professor, and I love to ride bikes! On July 29th, 2011, I received the news that I have breast cancer. This is my blog....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to cancer was SOOOOO last year

  1. bonny says:

    You got it, girl!

  2. emaillikeunderwear says:

    no problem!

Leave a Reply

