Three month follow-up today

I had one of those three-month checkups today. Kind of… well… underwhelming. We talked about bikes and bike crashes and stuff. And then – you look great! I hope to continue having appointments just like that for many many years to come.

In other news…. Friends and family members – cancer has hit hard. And… it … sucks.

So, on the one hand, I’m upbeat about my own cancer status – that is, there is no evidence that the hypothesis of cancer-free Lee is incorrect. YAY!

On the other hand, my heart hurts for my friends and family.

Fuck cancer.

About rleepenn

I'm a mom and a chemistry professor, and I love to ride bikes! On July 29th, 2011, I received the news that I have breast cancer. This is my blog....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Three month follow-up today

  1. gailnhb says:

    I discovered your blog this past weekend. I have just been diagnosed with breast cancer that is also in one lymph node – and found you while looking for info on what it looks and feels like to have a port. I had mine put in this morning. I begin chemo next Monday, then I’m going to have a bilateral mastectomy (my decision), then radiation – the whole buffet, as I have named it. It’s gonna be a long journey, but you have given me many reasons to have hope, to remain fierce, and to find ways to celebrate every success, great and small.

    Thank you so much for telling your story so honestly, for sharing photos, and for reminding us that, even when things are going well for you or anyone of us, there are others who suffer. We should rejoice at your healing, for sure, but always bear in mind that others need our support and prayers.

    I wish you the best on your ongoing journey with your family, your teaching, and your bike racing. (I was sooooooo impressed that you won a race during chemo. You inspire me to stay very active during my own treatment.)

    Peace be with you. Happy thanksgiving!

    • rleepenn says:

      Dear Gail
      What an amazing comment – thank you for posting! Please feel invited to email me – r l e e p e n n AT hot mail dot com….. I hope your port isn’t bugging you. I had a total love hate relationship with mine. Overall, definitely glad I had it, but I am soooo glad to no longer have it. And definitely try to stay active. I hear over and over again that activity makes everything better… and that couch potatoes suffer the most with chemo. What do you like to do?
      Glad you start right AFTER thanksgiving… ENJOY!!!!
      Warm hugs,
      Lee

Leave a Reply

