October 2012 is almost gone….

I feel like I should post something, but I’m left without much to say, to be honest. But, I don’t want to leave a month without some kind of update.

Our lives have been full of drama. A friend just had surgery for cancer, another friend had two surgeries for cancer-related stuff, another friend just had a baby, another friend had a baby by cesarean (with some complications), a family member has just begun chemotherapy for cancer, a family member will be having surgery soon for cancer, and a friend died due to cancer.
Enough.
Let’s focus on what’s awesome in the world of Lee Penn.
As far as I know, I am cancer-free.
My students – both in my nanotechnology class and my bike class – are terrific.
My students in my research group are awesome.
My sweetie is beyond awesome.
My child is doing terrifically at school – had a GREAT conference with his teacher!
I have a strong family.
I’m not racing as much as I’d like, but I sure do love riding my bikes as much as possible.

I’ve taken to writing a bit of haiku here and there….

sorrow shadows us
this time feels tight with grief, fear
loving and hoping

About rleepenn

I'm a mom and a chemistry professor, and I love to ride bikes! On July 29th, 2011, I received the news that I have breast cancer. This is my blog....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

