One year since treatment ended… plus a few days.

So, they told me that my “clock” started after the date of my last treatment – that would be Feb 2012 – the double mastectomy.

So, here I am – one year after finishing up all that treatment.

People ask me how I’m doing. I feel pretty darn good. I have no idea if I’m actually cancer-free, but I have no evidence to the contrary.  So, I’m going with that!

I wish I didn’t always have that nagging doubt in the back of my mind… Eye twitch – brain tumor? Back pain – bone mets? People who’ve been through this probably are saying – ah yes – I know that feeling.  Yes yes – it’s not rational. I know that.  I had a complete pathological response, but that doesn’t stop the what-if scenario from running through my head.

Also, it’s strange being basically cut loose.  I have one every three months check ups. THat’s it.  The doc of the moment (physician assistant or the big guy himself) feels me up, asks a bunch of questions, and sends me on my way…. That’s it.

So, there you have it.  Work is pretty exciting right now.  Tre is doing well – fifth grade is pretty awesome, actually. That’s mainly because he’s got a terrific teacher….

And Cheryl – wow – Cheryl is amazing.  But, I think everyone knows that by now, yes?

About rleepenn

I'm a mom and a chemistry professor, and I love to ride bikes! On July 29th, 2011, I received the news that I have breast cancer. This is my blog....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

