Four Years Ago: You Have Cancer

Four years ago today – I was sitting in my office when I got a phone call from the breast center…. You have cancer, she said. You have invasive ductile carcinoma, she said.

It feels like yesterday and it feels like a decade ago.

Honestly – I probably would have spaced that it’s my diagnosis-day-i-versary except that I put in an annual reminder into my google calendar. Now – I’m thinking about deleting that.

I’m super grateful to the wonderful and beautiful and super savy Cheryl…… and the energetic and joyful Tre…. Thank you for sharing your lives with me! They definitely made cancer far far less sucktacular. And let me be clear – it was sucktacular!

I have several friends facing cancer – either themselves or supporting a loved one.

So, I’m going to leave you all with some advice. If someone tells you they have cancer… or their mom has cancer…. or their child has cancer…. HOLD your advice. HOLD your stories about so and so who died horribly….

Say something like this.
I’m so sorry you have cancer.
Oh my – that’s sucks!
Or – my personal favorite, although not everyone appreciates the f-bomb….
FUCK CANCER!

If you have energy and help to give, then offer it.

And – a wee photo for your viewing pleasure.
Flat and fabulous…..
Tattoos by Tatus by Kore (Tre’s world) and Ayako Junko Osaki at Twin Cities Tattoo (Eagle and Jonathan Livingston Seagull)

Photograph of Lee Penn's flat and fabulous chest, with a colorful tattoo by Tatus by Kore and an eagle and Jonathan Livingston Seagull by Ayako Junko Osaki.

Photograph of Lee Penn’s flat and fabulous chest, with a colorful tattoo by Tatus by Kore and an eagle and Jonathan Livingston Seagull by Ayako Junko Osaki.

About rleepenn

I'm a mom and a chemistry professor, and I love to ride bikes! On July 29th, 2011, I received the news that I have breast cancer. This is my blog....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Four Years Ago: You Have Cancer

  1. bonny says:

    Fabulous picture! I’d say “brave”, but how can you NOT show that off!

Leave a Reply

